Wildcard Teams That Have Won the Super Bowl

Some of The Wildcard Teams That Have Won The Super Bowl Hands Down For Themselves! 
The Wild Card System was a new form of player format that was created back in 1970. Why was it formed? It was formed as a result of an existing realignment that had occurred before the official merger did take place between the National Football League and the American Football League. Since the time of, the establishment of the Wild Card System, there has only been a limited number of wild card teams that have managed to make their way all the way to the Super Bowl. These Wild Card Team Winners of the Super Bowl are ten in number. Of the ten that did go to the Super Bowl, there have only been six, who did end up actually winning the Super Bowl Trophy.

The NFL decided to come up with a whole new game schedule on October 29, 1978. The new game schedule would consist of a sixteen game schedule that would be preceded by a four-game preseason. Additional wild card teams would also be added to each conference and had the chance to play in the playoffs. The first two winning wild card teams would square off against each other in game play the first week of the postseason. Then in 1990, two more wild card teams were added into the mix itself, and that was due to the fact that there was a dramatic change in the playoff format. The dramatic change was strongly encouraged by the increase in television revenue and in order to get a new and difficult tie-breaking system streamlined properly.

The league did experience some more changes in 2002. What were these changes? First, the league did expand, and that expansion grew to include 32 teams in number. What the NFL did was to totally realign into eight different four team divisions. There was a total of seven teams that did change their divisions. One of these teams that did change its division was no other than the Seattle Seahawks. The Seattle Seahawks switched from being in the AFC to the NFC. They had first played prior in the AFC in 1976.

What are the six Wildcard Teams what have won the Super Bowl? They are no other than these. They are:

1. The Oakland Raiders – The Oakland Raiders played against the Philadelphia Eagles in the Super Bowl for the football season of 1980. The Oakland Raiders were the very first of all NFL football teams to achieve a Super Bowl win being a wildcard. The Oakland Raiders made history with their win. However, they also had to play, and win some back to back games in order to secure a spot to play in the Super Bowl for themselves.

2. The Denver Broncos – The Denver Broncos played against the Green Bay Packers in the Super Bowl Game for the year of 1997. They became the second team to play in a Super Bowl game as a wildcard pick. Nonetheless, the Denver Broncos were a powerhouse team, and they were led by the famed Hall of Fame quarterback named John Elway. The Denver Broncos also had running back Terrell Davis too.

3. The Baltimore Ravens – The Baltimore Ravens played against the New York Giants in the Super Bowl Game for the year 2000. The Baltimore Ravens were considered to have one of the best defenses of all NFL teams and the team was led by quarterback Trent Dilfer.

4. The Pittsburgh Steelers – The Pittsburgh Steelers played against the Seattle Seahawks in the Super Bowl Game of 2005. The Steelers was led by quarterback Ben Roethlisberger and they were the NFL football team that did accomplish for the first time in 25 years what the Raiders had achieved for themselves prior to the Steelers Super Bowl win.

5. The New York Giants – The New York Giants played against the New England Patriots in Super Bowl 2007. This Super Bowl win by the New York Giants didn’t just make great NFL history. It also was a game and season to truly remember. The NY Giants did finish 8-8 in the football season for 2006 and they almost did miss the playoffs.

6. The Green Bay Packers – The Green Bay Packers played against the Pittsburgh Steelers in the Super Bowl Game for 2010. The quarterback for the Green Bay Packers was no other than Aaron Rodgers and he was the one quarterback that did lead his team to four consecutive Super Bowl in franchise history. The Green Bay Packers defeated the opposing team in this Super Bowl match with a score of 31-25.